Kiva.org

So over the past few weeks I’ve been working my way through the Vlogbrothers YouTube videos.  I’ve covered almost five years so far.  …I may have a tendency to obsess over new, shiny things…  O_O

*ahem*

At any rate, I found out about this really amazing organization called Kiva.  What it is is a place where you can search around and find all sorts of people and groups around the world who are looking for capital in order to start a business, improve a business, or in some way improve their lives.  You can loan them however much you want in order to help them.  They repay the loan(s) as they can.

I decided to give it a look.  I certainly don’t have much, but I have a great deal more than many in the world and it makes me feel good to help and feel like I’m giving back to the world.  I found this request and decided that I really liked it and wanted to support it.  I mean, what’s not to like about people trying to better their lives, support themselves in a meaningful fashion, reduce their impact on the environment, and invest in green energy??  These are all things I support and care about.  Win/win!

Once that loan is repaid I will find someone else to help.  Giving gifts is something I really enjoy, it brings me a great deal of pleasure.  I may not be able to see this person receiving the money, they have no idea who I am, but it still gives me a warm feeling that I am contributing to making the world better, in a tiny but personally significant way.

Leave a Reply

